The Auld Toun Blog explores Edinburgh’s stories and gives updates about our latest news.
Teviot Row House, better known as Teviot, is located on Edinburgh University’s Central Campus and rumour has it, there’s one tenant who refuses to leave.
The building belongs to Edinburgh University Students’ Association and is a hub for student life. Completed in 1889, it’s the world’s oldest purpose built student union building in the world. It’s a beautiful Gothic building filled with cafes, bars, performance and study spaces. During the Edinburgh Fringe, it turns into the Gilded Balloon. But the story of the Major and his haunted flat, is lesser-known.
Located in one of Teviot’s turrets is a private flat, once lived in by the Major. There was not much information to be found about him, perhaps he was a member of original Student Representative Council. The flat itself is perfectly self-contained, with a mail slot, kitchen, bathroom and a view over Bristo Square.
The Major’s Quarters are not accessible to the public but there are rumours of cold spots, shadows and unusual noises. The Major doesn’t like visitors.