The Auld Toun Blog explores Edinburgh’s stories and gives updates about our latest news.
Hearts’ origins lie in Edinburgh’s Old Town. The football club grew of a dance society – The Heart of Mid-Lothian Quadrille Assembly – which met in a building where Holyrood Road now meets Dumbiedykes Road. This means they were formed only a few streets away from rivals Hibs. The clubs encountered each other for the first time in the Meadows in 1875.
Heart of Midlothian is also the name of a Walter Scott novel. The Old Tolbooth jail featured heavily in the story. Also a place of execution, it was demolished in 1817. The site is marked today by the Heart of Midlothian mosaic on the pavement outside St Giles Cathedral. This forms the basis of the design for the club’s crest.
After playing at several locations around the city, Hearts finally settled in the Gorgie-Dalry area in 1881. They won their first major honour, the Scottish Cup, ten years later.